Last-Modified and If-Modified-Since check

Checks the server response headers for Last-Modified and the server response to a request with an If-Modified-Since header.

Checking Last-Modified and If-Modified-Since is one of the integral parts in website promotion; it is required to understand whether the server response headers are formed correctly. p>

Last-Modified is one of the server response headers, which reports the date the page was last modified; it helps to estimate how long ago the content on it was changed.

If-Modified-Since is the header sent to the server. Using it, the date is transmitted to understand whether the page has been changed since this date. If the content has changed, then the server will respond with the page in the same way as with a normal request, with a response code of 200. But if there have been no changes on the page, the server will return an empty page with the 304 Not Modified header.

If-Modified-Since is used by browsers to save traffic. If, for example, the requested page is present in the browser's cache, then it will create a request with the If-Modified-Since header. Next, if a 304 Not Modified response is returned, then the browser will show this page from its cache.

Correctly setting up the server's response to the If-Modified-Since header also has a positive effect on interaction with search engines, which save time on downloading an unchanged page and use it to process subsequent pages on the site.

Проверка Last-Modified и If-Modified-Since

Проверяет заголовки ответа сервера на наличие Last-Modified и ответ сервера на запрос с заголовком If-Modified-Since.

Проверка Last-Modified и If-Modified-Since одна из неотъемлемых частей в продвижении сайтов, требуется для того что бы понять правильно ли формируются заголовки ответа сервера.

Last-Modified - это один из заголовков ответа сервера, который сообщает дату последнего изменения страницы, она помогает оценить как давно менялся на ней контент.

If-Modified-Since - это заголовок отправляемый на сервер. С помощью него передается дата, что бы понять изменялась ли страница после этой даты. Если контент менялся, то в ответ сервер отдаст страницу точно так же, как при обычном запросе, с кодом ответа 200. Но если на странице не было изменений, то сервер вернет пустую страницу с заголовком 304 Not Modified.

If-Modified-Since используется браузерами для экономии трафика. Если например запрашиваемая страница присутствует в кеше браузера, то он создаст запрос с заголовком If-Modified-Since. Далее, если вернется ответ 304 Not Modified, тогда браузер покажет эту страницу из своего кеша.

Правильная настройка ответа сервера на заголовок If-Modified-Since так же положительно влияет на взаимодействие с поисковыми системами, которые экономят время на скачивании неизмененной страницы и используют его для обработки следующих страниц сайта.

URL страницы: